MANCHESTER BARS - The Liquorists Manchester Reviews | About Us | Advertise
Manchester Bars  
click here for special offers from The Liquorists Manchester

Home | Special Offers | Submit a Bar Review | Manchester Restaurants | What's On in Manchester | Manchester Hotels
Manchester Bars by Location | Most Popular Areas | Top 10 Best Bars in Manchester | Manchester Bars A-Z | Subscribe

Cocktail Masterclasses Manchester | Manchester Bar Crawls | What's On in Manchester Bars | L
 
 
The Liqourists Manchester
Tel. N/A
Part drinks consultants, part tour guides, the Liquorists offer a chauffer driven cocktail tasting visit round Manchester bars
The Liquorists Manchester
 
 
  Manchester HOTELS
 
 
 
 
 

The Liquorists Manchester reviews

[click here to add your review]
 
 
 
 

Making Friends Whilst Drinking Like A King With A VIP Taste Of Manchester's Bars

Drinks
The Liquourist's Trail was a brilliant, exciting and fun way to sample some of the best bars that Manchester has to offer. The trail was expertly set up allowing you enough time to sample a cocktail and food provided in comfortable time within each bar we visited. Starting at the 5 star Lowry Hotel, we sampled the Spiced Pear Bacardi Martini (made with Bacardi Superior rum) before moving on to try the Apricot Southern Comfort Jam at Apotheca, where our brilliant drinks-consultant-cum-tour-guide, Charlene, normally works. At 24 Bar & Grill (previously Obsidian) we enjoyed the Long Cold Ice, made with the brilliant Kettle One Vodka from Holland. This being a December trail, the Christmas Eggnog (made with Havana Club Seleccion de Maestros rum) at Sandinista was delicious and very seasonal. They also gave us a single shot of Havana Club rum. Finally, at Moose Bar the equally festive Grand Marnier Hot Toddy ended the night perfectly.
Service
Our guide for the night, the beautiful Charlene, was always on hand to provide her expert knowledge on everything spirit and cocktail related. The service throughout the night was great. At The Lowry, everybody was friendly and served our reserved area very promptly. We were guided to the downstairs bar at Apotheca where we had a table reserved, even though the room had been booked by the Nordic Society - interestingly, a party which two of the ManchesterBars.com were also attending. Obviously, this being Charlene's home turf, service was top notch. At 24 Bar & Grill, we had a reserved alcove and received the sole attention of Adam, one of our favourite bartenders in town. In typical fashion, he provided an excellent indepth explanation of how the Long Cold Ice was invented. When we arrived at Sandinista, some people were sat in our reserved section at first but these were quickly moved on by the staff and the service was equally as attentive with drinks topped up free on request, sometimes they wouldn't take 'no' for an answer.
Atmosphere
The Liquorists Trail is a great way to make new friends, as was the case in our group, and each bar visited offers a different atmosphere. The Lowry was chilled out and relaxed if somewhat, as you'd expect for a 5 star hotel, a little formal with lots of business clients milling around. The atmosphere was equally relaxed at Apotheca, with some great tracks being played on the stereo. As it was still early, the Nordic Society's party hadn't really kicked off yet so the bar was half full with a friendly good-looking Scandinavian crowd (as well as the two ugly mugs from the ManchesterBars.com team). 24 Bar & Grill was fairly quiet with a few Christmas shoppers and hotel residents within the bar. Again, another relaxed, chilled vibe enabled the group to get to know each other whilst enjoying the drinks. By the time we hit Sandinista it was very busy, with crowds of people seemingly falling in from the Christmas market next door. Again the playlist is worthy of note and is one of the best in town (Rolling Stones, Led Zeppelin, Queen, Guns'n'Roses etc). Finally, the Christmas spirit was all over Moose Bar and, with the ice rink attached, the atmosphere was brilliantly festive.
Decor
The Liquorists Trail takes in a real mixture of bars, from the modern, chic and contemporary look of The Lowry and recently refurbished 24 Bar & Grill to the Bohemian, dark and brickwalled Apotheca in the Northern Quarter. The warm and fresh Sandinista adds a colourful latin vibe whilst the pop-up festive log cabin of Moose Bar added a ski chalet touch. A perfect flavour of what Manchester has to offer.
Toilets
An added bonus is that you are chauffeur driven to each bar, where a reserved area is waiting with the benefit of not having to queue for drinks. The night was a huge success, and after being driven around Manchester like a VIP and eating and drinking like a king, we found ourselves becoming attached to the group that we'd met three hours earlier as complete strangers and ending the night as friends. The Liquorists Trails are ideal for visitors to city or Mancunians alike and are great to attend individually, as a couple, or a crowd. You are guaranteed to have a fantastic time whilst hopefully finding some new Manchester haunts or favourite tipples along the way.
  ~ ManchesterBars.com (December 2011)
 
 
 
 

A Brilliant Night Which Will Open Your Eyes

Drinks
"I've just done the Whisky Trail with Jody from The Liquorists. It opened my eyes to the variety of whiskies out there - bourbon, Irish, Japanese.
Service
It was a brilliant night with some really interesting insights from our guide.
Decor
The night was rounded off with some excellent (and much needed) food in Home Sweet Home.
Toilets
I would highly recommend for small groups or for entertaining clients."
  ~ Joe Bowler ~ NEW MEMBER (23/5/2012 ~ went on a Friday Whisky Trail)
 
 
 
 

Always A Brilliant Night Whatever Your Age

Drinks
"Each bar provides a shot and a cocktail together with a food pairing. This can range from fancy popcorn to cheese or chips.
Service
There is an enjoyable mix of drinking, history, information and enthusiasm from Jody with additional commentary from Tom (or Ed Hall from 'To Buy Or Not To Buy' - sorry Tom!)
Atmosphere
This was the third Liquorist's tour I have been on. I have participated with ages ranging from 22 to 64 and all have enjoyed it. What I enjoy most about these trails is that no one is excluded. Whether you have loads or no knowledge whatsoever there is something for you. This makes a brilliant gift for a parent and indeed it seems quite a few (over 18) children and parents go together. The numbers also work well so that by the end of the night you are fully engaged in conversations with other participants
Decor
It also provides an opening to visit bars you are not familar with or perhaps were too intimidated to visit.
Toilets
Always a brilliant night. Excellent value for money. Bring on the next one."
  ~ Suzanne Ackermann, Manchester ~ NEW MEMBER (17/5/2012 ~ went on a Wednesday Whisky Trail)
 
 
 
 

Once You've Been On A Liquorists Trail There's No Going Back

Drinks
"Another trail, another great night. This time it was The Whiskey Trail. Six samples, five cocktails, four food tastings and a feast at the end. The night started in Socio Rehab where the whiskey of choice was Woodford Reserve. A great choice to start the night. This was paired with pieces of dark chocolate. If you weren t sure whether whiskey and chocolate go, they do! A classic Old Fashioned followed. This is becoming a favourite cocktail of mine and didn't disappoint. A short walk in the rain and we found ourselves in the upstairs Bourbon Bar at Trof. Here we sampled the delights of Jim Beam paired with a mini burger. Our tot of whiskey was accompanied by a small bottle of water! According to Barry, the whiskey tastes better with a few drops of water but I don't recall seeing anyone dilute their whiskey. The cocktail of choice was a Mint Julep, not something I would normally choose but enjoyed nonetheless. The rain continued as we walked to our next bar, Apotheca. We headed downstairs where a private party was about to get into full swing. They were very kind and allowed us to encroach on their space for a while. We were lucky enough to sample two whiskeys here. One was Yamazaki, a Japanese whiskey and the other Auchentoshan, our only Scotch whiskey of the night. We compared these side by side and in my honest opinion Yamazaki won the battle. To go with these whiskeys we were served melon balls dusted with ginger powder. A whiskey sour made with the Auchentoshan was served and consumed in no time at all. The rain had finally stopped as we headed to NoHo where we were served Jamesons accompanied by cheese and caramel popcorn! A strange mix of flavours which somehow worked. The cocktail, a Basil Smash, was nice and spicy with a dash of Tabasco and topped with cracked black pepper. A more unusual cocktail which got everyone talking. Our final destination was Home Sweet Home where we enjoyed the classic Jack Daniels. This was the end of the night and the final cocktail eludes me but I do remember it being good. A tasty burger rounded the night off.
Service
As always the night seemed to pass by too quickly but all trailers were appreciative of Barry's skills as our guide and he received a well deserved round of applause.
Atmosphere
There were several first timers on the trail but having spoken to them I believe they will be back for more. And so they should.
Toilets
Anyone who has not been on a trail yet needs to book on one. There's no going back once you have."
  ~ Andrea Thompson ~ member since Feb 2012 (8/5/2012 ~ went on a Friday Whisky Trail)
 
 
 
 

All A Girl Could Want

Drinks
"What more can a gal want than a selection of the finest bourbons, whiskeys and scotches? How about the above with some matched cocktails thrown in. Plus plenty of facts, chat and history for each drink thrown in for good measure, The great thing about the trail is that you don't need to go to the bar, wait for ages or find a table - The Liqourists have done all of that for you.
Service
Tom was our tour guide for the night and he was spot on. Service with a smile, almost obsessive geekiness in his knowledge and love for each drink and a genuine passion to know what you thought about it. He tweeked drinks left, right and centre to make sure old fussy pants got exactly what I liked, even if I didn't know that I liked it. It was all very professional.
Atmosphere
Some people may think this boozey school trip would be all laddy and leary - no way! The Liquorists have made sure everything is spot on. Tom's charm and friendly chat breaks the ice with everyone and before long you're discussing the finer points of sherry casks with someone you just met. They have selected the best bars in the Northern Quarter, giving the tour a lively, happy feel.
Toilets
This is a brilliant night and super cheap for the £30 it cost us - for that we got five drams, five cocktails, a nibble in each place and a slap up meal at the end. Plus Tom's wonderful stories, eight new friends and a night I'll remember forever. If you're feeling a bit bored of the Northern Quarter or want something new to tantalise your tastebuds, then the Whiskey Trail will be right up your street."
  ~ Sarah Nosh, Manchester ~ NEW MEMBER (2/5/2012 ~ went on a Wednesday Whiskey Trail)
 
 
 
 

An Amazing Night in Fantastic Bars I Didn't Even Know Existed

Drinks
"The Rum Trail included five fantastic cocktails and five very different shots of rum.
Service
Our host was great, everyone always had at least one drink in their hand.
Atmosphere
There was a really good atmosphere on the trail and our host made sure everyone was involved and having fun.
Decor
The bars we went to were fantastic, especially the Tiki bars. I've been going out in Manchester for years and didn't even know they existed.
Toilets
What an amazing night! Great drinks, great fun, good food and it was even educational. Absolutely fantastic for the price. I've already booked to go on another Rum Trail."
  ~ Peter Solinas ~ NEW MEMBER (21/2/2012 ~ went on a Friday Rum Trail)
 
 
 
 

An Amazing Night Of Great Rums and Cocktails

Drinks
"We had great rums and cocktails on The Rum Trail.
Service
The service was faultless. Tom was a top host and the bar staff on the Rum Tour made some killer drinks.
Atmosphere
It was a very friendly group and a good chance to meet people.
Decor
The bars chosen for the tour were very tasteful.
Toilets
Whilst it was still an amazing night out and I'd sign up again for another tour, the only slight negative I have would be that I was expecting more food during the tour itself. The food at the end of the tour was fine (although more Spanish than the advertised Caribbean!) so I would have eaten something before going out if I'd known that the food during the tour itself would be small tasters."
  ~ Chris Davies ~ NEW MEMBER (20/2/2012 ~ went on a Thursday Rum Trail)
 
 
 
 

A More Than Good Value Fantastic Night Out

Drinks
"We had some amazing rum samples and cocktails on The Rum Tour.
Service
Jody was a brilliant tour guide, full of information and really made the night.
Atmosphere
The atmosphere was relaxed and friendly.
Decor
We visited some great bars, that were welcoming and warm.
Toilets
The Rum Trail was a fantstic night out, well worth the money and you get more than good value. The food at the end of the night at Sandinista was lovely, with plenty for everyone."
  ~ Cath Crossland ~ Member since Nov 2011 (14/2/2012 ~ went on a Friday Rum Trail)
 
 
click here for ticketsclick here for hotels near Hyde Park
 
 

A Great Experience That Did Exactly What It Said On The Tin

Drinks
"We went on the The Liquorists Rum Tour and it was a great experience. It did exactly what it said on the tin... 5 rum tasting shots and 5 cocktails across some really cool bars and a meal to round it off. The food pairings throughout really worked (especially the dark chocolate one - yum!).
Service
Our guide knew everything you could possibly want to know about rum.
Atmosphere
The group was a nice, small gathering.
Toilets
We'll definitely be going again and we are also considering the Vodka version."
  ~ Frank McDade ~ Member since Apr 2010 (7/2/2012 ~ went on a Friday Rum Trail)
 
 
 
 

A Truly Great Experience That I Keep Talking About Long After

Toilets
"Last night was the first installment of the year in The Liquorists busy calendar, the aptly named Return of the Rum Trail!. Following the same concept of their previous trails, we were to be enjoying 5 different spirits, 5 different cocktails in 5 different bars accompanied by 5 different light bite appetizers. Always a daunting prospect, but challenge accepted!
Starting the night in Manchester s Northern Quarter tiki bar, Keko Moku, we were joined by Barry, of Epernay fame, who would be our host for the evening. With around 15 of us for what The Liquorists call more a gathering than a crowd, Barry introduced to us the concept of rum, a little history and what this sugar cane drink we had in our hands was all about. No sooner had we nosed and tasted the tot of Bacardi 8yr and a piece of dark chocolate, which for me softened the edges a lil, Barry was handing out the rum classic Daiquiri complete with sugar rim.
Not long after, we were hopping around the corner to our next venue, Hula Bar. Appleton VX was the choice of spirit, and making our way to their underground haven via a wall tank of fish, we were greeted with both a tot of Appleton, and caramalised pineapple chunks. Whilst taking in the surroundings of what literally is a beach hut, another classic rum cocktail in the Mai Tai was being handed round as Barry explained the history of Appleton to the gathering.
Mojo's was the next port of call, with their Rhum Room, a stunning upstairs bar with a backbar to die for, offering us the Venezuelan Santa Teresa rum to sip while their Venezuelan rum punch was being hand crafted for our pleasure. The rather long and refreshing cocktail was complimented well with dried figs, mango and pistachios.
From Venezuela back to Cuba, Bacardi and their spiced offering of the newly released Oakheart was next to showcase itself at The Liars Club, with an offering of a spiced Mojito being served while we munched on caramalised ginger pieces. All that was missing was the Hawaiin shirts! (still regretting not wearing my rather stylish bright yellow shirt, but there s always next time).
  Our last bar for the night was in one of Manchester's tapas bars, Sandinista. The Cuban Havana 3yr was sipped, while Espresso Martini cocktails were brought over to us amid stuffed peppers with cheese, platters of nachos with melted cheese, patatas bravas, olives, garlic bread and albondigas (meatballs).
  A great night was had, with a round of applause given to Barry by all in attendance. And it truly was. Three friends joined me last night, one a veteran of the last two trails, just to experience something that I keep talking about long after). With a busy year ahead for The Liquorists, you can expect to be hearing a lot more from me regarding this fantastic concept.
  ~ Dave Marsland ~ Member since Feb 2011 (7/2/2012 ~ went on a Wednesday Rum Trail)
 
 
 
 

An Absolutely Great Tour

Toilets
"The Vodka Trail was an absolutely great tour, brilliant value for money and I really learnt a lot, not just about vodka but also about what bars to go to in the Northern Quarter! Will definitely be rounding the troops up again soon for another outing with The Liquorists."
  ~ Lizzie Eaves ~ NEW MEMBER (18/1/2012 ~ went on a Vodka Trail)
 
 
 
Manchester Bars

Submit a review of The Liquorists Manchester

To submit a review of The Liquorists Manchester, you must be a member of the Pride Of Manchester mailing list...
 
 
 
 
Not yet a Member?
As a Pride Of Manchester member, you'll receive weekly...
~ Exclusive restaurant offers (including many 2 for 1 deals)
~ Exclusive theatre offers (including many 2 for 1 deals)
~ Exclusive bar offers (including many 2 for 1 deals)
~ The latest news of what's on in Manchester (new shows to be announced, cinema releases and pre-sale info)
We promise never to share your info with anyone else and you can also manage your subscription at any point.
 
 
 
 
Already a Member?
If you're already a Pride Of Manchester member, simply enter your details below to submit your review...
Only members can post reviews...
Your full name:
Your email address:
 
 
   
our hotel websites
manchester
our theatre guides
 
  
Disclaimer: All information correct 1/1/2012. ManchesterBars.com can not be held responsible for any differences experienced at the premises listed. All images and information 2002-11 Pride Of Manchester